1. Home
  2. Key Features
  3. Bookmarking Favourite Views

Bookmarking Favourite Views

Overview

No matter which department they work in, each user will have particular areas of JobWatch they visit regularly and within those key sections, they will also have views and filters which they frequently apply.  The Bookmarking favourite views feature was developed to allow each user to name and save these favourite so that they can be quickly and easily accessed, wherever they are in the system.  Where desired, Administrators can also create favourite settings and apply them globally.

Setup

Creating Favourites

Creating Favourites

Creating your favourites couldn’t be simpler.

  1. Go to an area of JobWatch, eg CRM, Fleet & Resources, Schedule and apply the filters and view which you wish to bookmark.
  2. Click on the star icon, labelled ‘save current view as favourite
  3. Complete the popup window which will have opened, naming the Favourite and setting From and To ranges eg if you want to look at any jobs completed with issues the previous day, you would set the range as current day minus 1or if you wanted to save a weekly To Do list, it might look like this
  4. When these have been saved, they can be searched for by clicking on the star icon labelled Views, which appears next to the Search anything box.You will also see that there is a symbol to the left of each label indicating which part of the JobWatch system each favourite belongs in.

Global views (shown in bold) will appear at the top of Favourites in alphabetical order and, where global views exist, they are segmented to separate them from an individual’s Favourites. Individual views can now be dragged and dropped into your preferred order by clicking on the ‘Reorder‘ button.

Save Favourite View As URL & Open In New Tab

Favourites views can also be accessed by way of a URL stored as a bookmark in your general browser.

You can click on the link icon to save the URL to your browser as a bookmark.

Click Ctrl/CMD + the favourite and the view will open in a new window. Text has been added as a reminder.

Administration

Administration

You will have noticed that in the popup window in the examples above there was an option on the Visibility field to select ‘Just for me’ or ‘For everyone’.

This option is only visible because the user in our example was an Administrator and had been given permission to create global settings.  For users who do not have these permissions, setting a global favourite is not an option.

A new Administrative role sets up these permissions. Navigate: My Account  > Administration > [Quick Links menu] Manage Web Users > Roles 

Editing & Deleting

Editing & Deleting

The edit icon provides users with the ability to rename and edit the date ranges for favourite views, as well as an option to delete them.

Global favourite views appear in bold to differentiate them from personal ones.

A ‘Reset‘ button works in tandem with the Favourites star icon, allowing users to ‘reset’ the search to its default values, effectively cancelling this bookmark so that it can be reconfigured.

Set Owner/Creator

Set Owner/Creator

When saving a global view against either a Note or a Sales Opportunity,  new fields appear: either Note creator and Note owner or Owner.  Users can leave blank to complete as per the filter or tick to save as the logged in Web User:

Sort Favourite Views

Sort Favourite Views

Global views (shown in bold) appear at the top of Favourites in alphabetical order and, where global views exist, they are segmented to separate them from an individual’s Favourites. Individual views can now be dragged and dropped into your preferred order by clicking on the ‘Reorder‘ button.

Video

Bookmarking Favourite Views

Edit Favourite Views

Edit Favourite Views

Set Owner/Creator

Set Owner/Creator

Sort Favourite Views

Sort Favourite Views

Email This Post Email This Post
Updated on 17th December 2020

Related Articles

WP Feedback

Dive straight into the feedback!
Login below and you can start commenting using your own user instantly